We independently evaluate all recommended products and services. Any products or services put forward appear in no particular order. If you click on links we provide, we may receive compensation.

Look up the published chemistry of 81 knife steels across 14 elements. Choose a steel or open the full table ↓ to compare percentages, ranges and limits, with a source for every row. Chemistry alone cannot tell you how a knife will cut. For those tradeoffs, see our knife steel guide or compare performance ratings.
Knife Steel Composition Chart
Find a grade, inspect its reported elements, or open the complete table. Sorting changes table order; picking a steel jumps to its row in full-table view. These are selected alloying elements in mass percent. Iron makes up most of the remaining material, along with other elements not reported here. This is not a complete analysis; the figures are not expected to add to 100. Why steel is primarily iron.
Scroll sideways to see all elements and the source → Scroll down the page for more steels ↓
Showing one of 81 steels
1075
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.75–0.85%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.1–0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.1–0.3%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.03%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Chromium, Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Buderus 1075 stock specification, not all 1075 melts; selected reported elements, not a finished-blade assay
Source detail: p. 1, specified chemistry ranges and one heat analysis
1084
Supplier specification ranges/limits · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.80–0.90%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.70–0.90%
- Silicon Si
- 0.15–0.35%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.025%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.025%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Chromium, Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Specification on the Buderus certificate for NJ Steel Baron Tag 1723, heat 31983, listed for 1/8-inch stock. These are scoped supplier requirements, not a universal chemistry for every 1084 lot.
Certificate 419016/1, 22 February 2023, page 1. The June 2026 upload path is not the melt or test date. Sorting uses the lower bound of ranges and the stated maximum for limits.
1095
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.9–1.03%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.3–0.5%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.05%
10 elements without a numeric value here
Chromium, Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Silicon, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Published supplier chemistry ranges and maximum limits, percent; not nominal values and not a certificate for a particular knife or heat
Source detail: Chemistry Information; corroborated by Eagle Steel 1095 row
12C27
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.6%
- Chromium Cr
- 13.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.025%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.01%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Producer’s nominal values, with maximum impurity limits
Source detail: p. 1, Chemical Composition
13C26
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.68%
- Chromium Cr
- 13%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.7%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.025%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.01%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Producer’s nominal values, with maximum impurity limits
Source detail: Chemical Composition
14C28N
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.62%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.11%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.6%
- Silicon Si
- 0.2%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.025%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.01%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Alleima nominal composition, mass %; selected elements, not a batch analysis.
Source detail: Chemical composition (nominal) %
154CM
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.05%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
11 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
19C27
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.95%
- Chromium Cr
- 13.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.7%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.025%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.01%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Producer’s nominal values, with maximum impurity limits
Source detail: Chemical Composition
420
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- ≥0.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 12–14%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Carpenter grade; C is minimum
Source detail: p. 1, Typical Analysis
420HC
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.42%
- Chromium Cr
- 12.8%
- Nickel Ni
- ≤0.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.5%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.01%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer typical; not a specification for every Buck knife
Source detail: p. 2, Table 1, 420HC row
420J2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.26–0.4%
- Chromium Cr
- 12–14%
- Nickel Ni
- ≤0.6%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
JSSA JIS SUS420J2 specification; nickel is permitted up to 0.60%, not required
440A
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.6–0.75%
- Chromium Cr
- 16–18%
- Molybdenum Mo
- ≤0.75%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Carpenter PDF range and maxima; only values supported by this cited sheet
Source detail: PDF p. 1, Type Analysis
440B
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.75–0.95%
- Chromium Cr
- 16–18%
- Molybdenum Mo
- ≤0.75%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Carpenter producer range and maxima
Source detail: p. 1, Type Analysis
440C
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.95–1.2%
- Chromium Cr
- 16–18%
- Molybdenum Mo
- ≤0.75%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Carpenter producer range and maxima
Source detail: p. 1, Type Analysis
5160
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.56–0.64%
- Chromium Cr
- 0.7–0.9%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.75–1%
- Silicon Si
- 0.15–0.3%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.035%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.04%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Admiral Steel’s specification ranges for 5160 spring stock, rather than measurements of a finished blade
Source detail: 5160 row, specified chemistry ranges
52100
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.93–1.1%
- Chromium Cr
- 1.4–1.6%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.25–0.45%
- Silicon Si
- 0.15–0.35%
- Phosphorus P
- 0–0.025%
- Sulfur S
- 0–0.015%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
supplier specification
Source detail: Chemical Composition table
80CrV2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.8%
- Chromium Cr
- 0.55%
- Vanadium V
- 0.2%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.33%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
SIJ SIHARD 2235 average analysis, not every 80CrV2 stock; selected reported elements, not a finished-blade assay
Source detail: p. 1, average chemistry, applications and treatment
8Cr13MoV
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.8%
- Chromium Cr
- 13%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.15%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1%
- Nickel Ni
- 0.2%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.5%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.02%
- Sulfur S
- 0.01%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker reported; not a melt-producer specification
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, 8Cr13MoV row
9Cr18MoV
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.85–0.95%
- Chromium Cr
- 17–19%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1–1.3%
- Vanadium V
- 0.07–0.12%
- Nickel Ni
- 0.6%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.8%
- Silicon Si
- 0.8%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.04%
- Sulfur S
- 0.03%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker reported; not a melt-producer specification
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, 9Cr18MoV row
A2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1%
- Chromium Cr
- 5.25%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.1%
- Vanadium V
- 0.25%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.85%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: Typical Chemical Composition
AEB-L
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.67%
- Chromium Cr
- 13%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.6%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.025%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.015%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Uddeholm UHB AEB-L producer-listed composition in a medical-blade catalog
Source detail: Medical blade strip section; C 0.67%, Cr 13%; no knife-specific HRC
ATS-34
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
12 elements without a numeric value here
Carbon, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer public values only; others undisclosed
Source detail: Chemical composition, YSS ATS34 column
ATS-55
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.6%
- Cobalt Co
- 0.4%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
- Copper Cu
- 0.2%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Nickel, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker reported; not a melt-producer specification
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, ATS-55 row
AUS-10
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.95–1.1%
- Chromium Cr
- 13–14.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.1–0.31%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1–0.27%
- Nickel Ni
- 0.49%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.04%
- Sulfur S
- 0.03%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker reported; not an Aichi melt-producer specification
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, AUS-10 row
AUS-6
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.55–0.65%
- Chromium Cr
- 13–14.5%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1–0.25%
- Nickel Ni
- 0.49%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.04%
- Sulfur S
- 0.03%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker published values; not a melt certificate
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, AUS-6 row
AUS-8
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.7–0.75%
- Chromium Cr
- 13–14.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.1–0.3%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1–0.26%
- Nickel Ni
- 0.49%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.04%
- Sulfur S
- 0.03%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker reported; not an Aichi melt-producer specification
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, AUS-8 row
BECUT
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.72%
- Chromium Cr
- 14.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.9%
- Vanadium V
- 0.6%
- Niobium Nb
- 0.8%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.45%
- Silicon Si
- 0.55%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
BESTAR May 2025 published grade values; supplier says chemistry can change, not a blade assay
Source detail: Page 1 grade identity and nominal chemistry; page 2 treatment, bowl cutter and chef-knife applications, limitations
BG-42
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 14.5%
- Vanadium V
- 1.2%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.3%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Nominal composition from the original Latrobe BG-42 datasheet, hosted by Carpenter
Source detail: p. 1, Typical Composition
Böhler K340 ISODUR
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.1%
- Chromium Cr
- 8.3%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 2.1%
- Vanadium V
- 0.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.9%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Böhler K340 ISODUR average analysis only; ECOSTAR differs; selected reported elements, not a finished-blade assay
Source detail: producer average chemistry, ESR process and custom hand-knife application
Böhler M390
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.9%
- Chromium Cr
- 20%
- Tungsten W
- 0.6%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.3%
- Silicon Si
- 0.7%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Böhler average composition, mass %; selected elements, not a batch analysis.
Source detail: Chemical composition (average %)
Böhler M398
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.7%
- Chromium Cr
- 20%
- Vanadium V
- 7.2%
- Tungsten W
- 0.7%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.5%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Böhler average M398 Microclean chemistry
Source detail: Chemical Composition (average %), manufacturing and wear-resistance description
CPM 10V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.45%
- Chromium Cr
- 5.25%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.3%
- Vanadium V
- 9.75%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.9%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: Typical Chemical Composition
CPM 154
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.05%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
11 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
CPM 15V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 3.4%
- Chromium Cr
- 5.25%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.3%
- Vanadium V
- 14.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.9%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: Typical Chemical Composition
CPM 20CV
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.9%
- Chromium Cr
- 20%
- Tungsten W
- 0.6%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Niagara typical composition, mass %; selected elements, not a batch analysis.
Source detail: Typical Composition
CPM 3V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.8%
- Chromium Cr
- 7.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.3%
- Vanadium V
- 2.75%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.3%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
CPM 4V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.35%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 2.95%
- Vanadium V
- 3.85%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.8%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: p. 1, Typical Chemical Composition
CPM CRU-WEAR
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 7.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.6%
- Vanadium V
- 2.4%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
CPM M4
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.3%
- Chromium Cr
- 4.3%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 4.5%
- Tungsten W
- 5.6%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.3%
- Silicon Si
- 0.3%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: Typical Chemical Composition
CPM MagnaCut
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 10.7%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.2%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Niagara typical composition, mass %; selected elements, not a batch analysis.
Source detail: Typical Composition
CPM REX 121
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 3.4%
- Vanadium V
- 9.5%
- Tungsten W
- 10%
- Sulfur S
- 0.1%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Zapp supplier CPM REX 121 composition table
Source detail: Composition table and industrial tool-steel application; no model-specific knife treatment
CPM S110V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.8%
- Chromium Cr
- 15.25%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 2.25%
- Cobalt Co
- 2.5%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Nitrogen, Tungsten, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: Typical Chemical Composition
CPM S30V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.45%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.2%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
Reported composition from Larrin Thomas’s July 2026 table, mass %; not a producer specification or batch analysis. This source lists 0.2% nitrogen for S30V; Niagara’s datasheet does not list nitrogen
CPM S35VN
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.4%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
- Niobium Nb
- 0.5%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
CPM S45VN
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.48%
- Chromium Cr
- 16%
- Niobium Nb
- 0.5%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.15%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
CPM S60V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 17%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.4%
- Vanadium V
- 5.5%
10 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Supplier’s typical values
Source detail: Typical Composition
CPM S90V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.3%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
10 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Niagara typical composition, mass %; selected elements, not a batch analysis.
Source detail: Typical Composition
CPM SPY27
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.25%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.1%
- Cobalt Co
- 1.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.5%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Tungsten, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker published values; not a melt certificate
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, CPM SPY27 row
CRU-WEAR
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.1%
- Chromium Cr
- 7.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.6%
- Vanadium V
- 2.4%
- Tungsten W
- 1.15%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
supplier typical; not CPM CRU-WEAR; selected reported elements, not an assay of a finished knife
CTS 204P
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.9%
- Chromium Cr
- 20%
- Tungsten W
- 0.65%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.35%
- Silicon Si
- 0.6%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer nominal
Source detail: Type Analysis
CTS BD1
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.85–0.95%
- Chromium Cr
- 15–17%
- Molybdenum Mo
- ≤0.5%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
producer range and maxima
Source detail: p. 1, Type Analysis
CTS BD1N
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.85–0.95%
- Chromium Cr
- 15–17%
- Molybdenum Mo
- ≤0.5%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.1–0.15%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.03%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.01%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Carpenter PDF type analysis; range and maximum qualifiers retained exactly
Source detail: PDF p. 1 Type Analysis, corrosion; pp. 1–2 heat treatment; PDF supersedes malformed HTML qualifiers
CTS XHP
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.6%
- Chromium Cr
- 16%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.8%
- Vanadium V
- 0.45%
- Nickel Ni
- 0.35%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer nominal; PDF governs over inconsistent HTML labels
Source detail: p. 1, Typical Analysis
D2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.42%
- Chromium Cr
- 11.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.9%
- Vanadium V
- 0.8%
10 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Niagara typical composition, mass %; selected elements, not a batch analysis.
Source detail: Typical Composition
Elmax
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.7%
- Chromium Cr
- 18%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.3%
- Silicon Si
- 0.8%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Producer-listed typical chemistry, mass %
Source detail: Chemical composition table and production method on producer product page
GIN-1
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.9%
- Chromium Cr
- 15.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.3%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.6%
- Silicon Si
- 0.37%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.02%
- Sulfur S
- 0.03%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Values reported by Spyderco for GIN-1, historically known as G-2
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, GIN-1 row
H-1
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- ≤0.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 14–16%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.5–1.5%
- Nitrogen N
- ≤0.1%
- Nickel Ni
- 6–8%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤2%
- Silicon Si
- 3–4.5%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
Knife-maker chart; C, N, Mn, P and S are maximum limits, as clarified by Larrin Thomas; other displayed values are ranges.
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, H-1 row
H-2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.09%
- Chromium Cr
- 13.73%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 2.24%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.06%
- Nickel Ni
- 8.25%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.31%
- Silicon Si
- 2.63%
- Copper Cu
- 0.17%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.03%
- Sulfur S
- 0.00%
4 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
knife-maker published values; not a melt certificate
Source detail: 2026 Steel Chart, H-2 row
K110
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.55%
- Chromium Cr
- 11.3%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.75%
- Vanadium V
- 0.75%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.3%
- Silicon Si
- 0.3%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer average
Source detail: Chemical Composition, average %
K390 Microclean
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.47%
- Chromium Cr
- 4.2%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 3.8%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.55%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer average
Source detail: Chemical Composition
LC200N
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.3%
- Chromium Cr
- 15%
- Nitrogen N
- ≤0.5%
- Nickel Ni
- ≤0.5%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Vanadium, Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Zapp producer-listed average chemistry and explicit maxima, mass %
Source detail: Page 1: chemical composition and PESR process; maximum values retained
M2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.78–0.88%
- Chromium Cr
- 3.75–4.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 4.5–5.5%
- Vanadium V
- 1.6–2.2%
- Tungsten W
- 5.5–6.75%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.2–0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.2–0.4%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
AISI range, not YXM1 recipe
Source detail: Chemical composition, AISI M2 column
Maxamet
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.15%
- Chromium Cr
- 4.75%
- Tungsten W
- 13%
- Cobalt Co
- 10%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤0.3%
- Silicon Si
- ≤0.25%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.07%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Niobium, Nitrogen, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer nominal and maxima
Source detail: Type Analysis
Micro-Melt PD#1
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.1%
- Chromium Cr
- 7.75%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.6%
- Vanadium V
- 2.35%
- Tungsten W
- 1.1%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤0.25%
- Silicon Si
- ≤1.2%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Carpenter’s Type Analysis lists nominal values and maximum limits for this grade.
Source detail: Type Analysis nominal values and maximum limits, selected elements
N680
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.54%
- Chromium Cr
- 17.3%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.1%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.45%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer average; nitrogen listed without quantity
Source detail: Chemical Composition
N690
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.08%
- Chromium Cr
- 17.3%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.1%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1%
- Cobalt Co
- 1.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.4%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer average
Source detail: Chemical Composition
Niolox
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.8%
- Chromium Cr
- 12.7%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.1%
- Vanadium V
- 0.9%
- Niobium Nb
- 0.7%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Lohmann typical analysis for its LO-R 4153.03 / Niolox stock, not a finished-blade assay
Source detail: Typical range table, Niolox row; selected elements
Nitro-V
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.66–0.70%
- Chromium Cr
- 12.70–13.30%
- Vanadium V
- 0.05–0.10%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.10–0.12%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.60–0.70%
- Silicon Si
- 0.30–0.50%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.020%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.010%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Specification ranges and maxima on a 2019 Buderus Nitro-V inspection certificate hosted by New Jersey Steel Baron. The measured heat on that certificate is one batch, not every knife.
O1
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.85–0.95%
- Chromium Cr
- 0.4–0.6%
- Tungsten W
- 0.4–0.6%
- Manganese Mn
- 1–1.3%
- Silicon Si
- 0.2–0.4%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
AISI range, not SGT recipe
Source detail: AISI O1 column; the source lists vanadium as (0.10). That parenthesized figure is not displayed as an unqualified composition value here.
RWL 34
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.05%
- Chromium Cr
- 14%
- Vanadium V
- 0.2%
- Nitrogen N
- <0.1%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.5%
- Phosphorus P
- <0.04%
- Sulfur S
- <0.03%
5 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Damasteel nominal RWL34 composition, not an assay of a retail blade
Source detail: Standalone RWL34 product description; nominal composition table; knife application; annealed and heat-treated conditions
SK-5 / SK85
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.8–0.9%
- Chromium Cr
- ≤0.3%
- Nickel Ni
- ≤0.25%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.1–0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.1–0.35%
- Copper Cu
- ≤0.25%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.03%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.03%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Kobe Steel listing of JIS SK85 (SK5) carbon tool steel; ranges are grade analysis, not a blade assay
Source detail: PDF standards and chemical components, SK85 (SK5) row; selected elements
Uddeholm Sleipner
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.9%
- Chromium Cr
- 7.8%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 2.5%
- Vanadium V
- 0.5%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.5%
- Silicon Si
- 0.9%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Uddeholm average grade composition; not an assay of a retail knife
Source detail: Chemical composition table, average percent; selected elements
Vanax SuperClean
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.35%
- Chromium Cr
- 18.2%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.1%
- Vanadium V
- 3.5%
- Nitrogen N
- 1.55%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Producer-listed typical chemistry, mass %
Source detail: Chemical composition table and production method on producer product page
Vancron SuperClean
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.3%
- Chromium Cr
- 4.5%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 1.8%
- Vanadium V
- 10%
- Nitrogen N
- 1.8%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.4%
- Silicon Si
- 0.5%
7 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Uddeholm nominal producer composition, not an assay of a finished knife
Source detail: Chemical composition table; selected nominal elements
VG-10
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1%
- Chromium Cr
- 15%
- Vanadium V
- 0.25%
- Cobalt Co
- 1.55%
9 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
Selected nominal/typical values, mass %; not a batch certificate or complete analysis
X50CrMoV15
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.45–0.55%
- Chromium Cr
- 14–15%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.5–0.8%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1–0.2%
- Manganese Mn
- ≤1%
- Silicon Si
- ≤0.75%
- Phosphorus P
- ≤0.04%
- Sulfur S
- ≤0.015%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer specification; ranges and maxima
Source detail: Chemical Composition, ACX 380 / EN 1.4116 row
ZDP-189
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 3%
- Chromium Cr
- 20%
12 elements without a numeric value here
Molybdenum, Vanadium, Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without a clear figure.
About these values
producer public values only; others undisclosed
Source detail: Chemical composition, YSS ZDP189 column
MagnaMax
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 2.05%
- Chromium Cr
- 10.7%
- Niobium Nb
- 2.5%
- Nitrogen N
- 0.2%
8 elements without a numeric value here
Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
Reported composition from Larrin Thomas’s July 2026 table, mass %; not a producer specification or batch analysis
AR-RPM9
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 0.9%
- Chromium Cr
- 18%
- Vanadium V
- 0.1%
- Cobalt Co
- 0.3%
- Nickel Ni
- <0.4%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.45%
- Silicon Si
- 0.2–0.8%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
Artisan brand-reported chemistry; nickel strictly below 0.4%; undefined RE marker is not quantified
CPM D2
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.54%
- Chromium Cr
- 11.3%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 0.76%
- Vanadium V
- 0.92%
- Manganese Mn
- 0.31%
- Silicon Si
- 0.81%
- Phosphorus P
- 0.016%
- Sulfur S
- 0.014%
6 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Copper. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
New Jersey Steel Baron reported CPM D2 chemistry; chart does not label values nominal versus typical; not a finished-blade assay
Super Gold 2 (SG2)
Reported chemistry · mass %
- Carbon C
- 1.4%
- Chromium Cr
- 15%
- Molybdenum Mo
- 2.8%
10 elements without a numeric value here
Niobium, Nitrogen, Tungsten, Cobalt, Nickel, Manganese, Silicon, Copper, Phosphorus, Sulfur. A missing number does not mean the element is absent; some sources mention an element without listing its quantity.
About these values
Selected composition reported in Dr. Larrin Thomas’s 2019 SG2 research chart, mass %; not a current Takefu specification or batch analysis.
Source detail: SG2 (1991) row in SG2-vs-PM-stainless-composition.jpg; W cell blank, not zero.
Why are some steels missing from the chart?Show explanation ↓Hide details ↑
This chart follows the attributed source for each row and does not include every knife steel. A source sheet that omits or withholds a recipe does not establish that no composition has been published elsewhere. MagnaMax now has a sourced row above: Larrin Thomas’s July 2026 table reports its composition. The earlier supplier sheet’s “patent pending” label does not establish that its chemistry is still undisclosed. AR-RPM9 and CPM D2 also have rows, attributed to Artisan and New Jersey Steel Baron respectively. These are source-specific compositions, not assays of a finished knife. Other historical labels remain held where exact-grade specifications or identity are unresolved, including 1095 CroVan, 14-4CrMo, 5Cr15MoV, 8Cr15MoV, 9Cr13CoMoV, AUS-4, CPM S125V, X-15 TN, LV-03, LV-04, T5MoV and T6MoV.
How to Read a Knife Steel Composition Chart
Carbon, tool and stainless labels overlap in practice. Compare like-for-like, precisely named grades. A supplier's typical analysis, a producer's range, a knife maker's reported chemistry and a researcher's published composition table are different kinds of evidence. A listed maximum is a limit, not a target. The source beside each row tells you what its numbers represent.
Bulk chromium is not a corrosion score: chromium available in the matrix after heat treatment matters. A higher vanadium percentage may mean more hard carbides, but carbide size, geometry and heat treatment affect the edge you actually use. Hardness is absent because HRC describes a particular finished blade and treatment, not an element in an alloy recipe. Compare a knife maker's stated HRC separately.
What the Elements in Knife Steel Do
These descriptions explain likely metallurgical roles, not guaranteed performance. Use the full specification and the intended cutting task when comparing steels.
Carbon
Helps steel harden; some carbon forms carbides. More is not automatically better for a finished edge.
Chromium
Can support corrosion resistance when available in the matrix; bulk percentage alone cannot predict rust resistance.
Molybdenum
Can influence carbides and corrosion behavior as part of the complete alloy and heat treatment.
Vanadium
Forms hard carbides that can aid abrasive wear resistance. Amount alone cannot predict edge stability or sharpening effort.
Niobium
Forms hard carbides and can refine the structure. Its effect depends on processing and the full recipe.
Nitrogen
Can contribute to hardening and corrosion behavior; its role varies greatly across steel families.
Tungsten
Can form wear-resistant carbides and influence hardening, particularly in tool and high-speed steels.
Cobalt
Often used in high-speed steels to support hot hardness; it is not a stand-alone knife performance score.
Nickel
Can affect toughness and corrosion behavior in a complete alloy. Small published maxima may be residual limits.
Manganese
Assists steelmaking and hardenability. A listed maximum or nominal amount is not a blade-quality measure.
Silicon
Often used in deoxidation and can influence hardenability; interpret it with the entire specification.
Copper
May be included or limited for alloy-specific reasons. A reported maximum need not be an intentional addition.
Phosphorus
Often controlled as a residual impurity. It can affect brittleness and machinability; higher is not a goal.
Sulfur
Often limited as a residual; sometimes added for machinability. Its effect depends on inclusions and intended use.
Sources and Update Notes
The chart contains 81 numeric source records; the steel guide’s directory covers 82 names and designations. The two lists serve different purposes: the 420/420J designation guide does not have a single matching recipe, and AUS-10A is discussed with AUS-10. The SG2 row uses Larrin Thomas’s published research chart; Takefu does not disclose a numerical recipe on its product page.
H-1: C, N, Mn, P and S are maximum limits, as clarified by Larrin Thomas; other displayed values are ranges. Thomas explains the limits here. AUS-6, AUS-8 and AUS-10: Single figures are reproduced as listed; the source does not identify whether each is a typical value or a limit.
H-2 sulfur is displayed as 0.00 at the precision used in Spyderco’s chart; that does not establish that sulfur is absent. Thomas’s H-2 analysis discusses an earlier reported value of 0.001%.
Each row ends with a direct producer, named supplier, knife-maker or researcher-published source. Where a maker-specific name appears, the numbers apply to that named scope. Plain numbers retain the source's listed convention, including nominal or typical values; limits and ranges stay limits and ranges. Carpenter's 440-series PDFs specify molybdenum as a maximum of 0.75%, so these rows show ≤0.75%. The favorites above are KnifeInformer editorial picks for different uses, not a ranking calculated from this chemistry chart. Research and table assembly used AI assistance; the linked specifications and published composition tables, not generated estimates, are the basis for the listed values. We did not assay any blade.
Draft revised October 11, 2026. Chemistry records retain their individual source-check history; source specifications and reported compositions are not measurements of each finished knife. For general chemistry context see Alleima's knife-steel chemistry guide and Spyderco's element guide.
Where this chart’s data comes from: the numerical chemistry values are transcribed from the linked manufacturer, supplier and knife-maker specifications, along with explicitly attributed researcher-published composition tables. Larrin Thomas’s July 2026 table supplies the MagnaMax and S30V composition rows. These are chemistry values, not his performance ratings, and this chart does not calculate performance from composition. See the steel guide for attributed performance evidence and the MagnaCut profile for a worked example.


